---
title: User Groups
description: "## User Groups User Groups help you control who can view, edit, or access diagrams, perfect for large organisations. In this guide, we'll show you how to create a group, add and remove users from the group, delete a group,…"
url: "https://bowtiemaster.com/docs/user-groups/"
updated: "2025-06-25"
category: "How-to Guides"
---

# User Groups

## User Groups

User Groups help you control who can view, edit, or access diagrams, perfect for large organisations. In this guide, we'll show you how to create a group, add and remove users from the group, delete a group, restrict projects,  change user group access types, and view accessible projects.

##### **Create a Group and Add Users **

Note: Only Organisation Admin can create a user group. Diagram Editors can also add individual users to groups.

**Step 1: On the left-side panel, click Settings > Company Settings. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group.png)

**Step 2: Go to User Groups Menu. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-2.png)

**Step 3: Click + Group. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-3.png)

**Step 4: In the pop-up, enter a Group Name. Then, click on +Add to add users to the group. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-4.png)

**Step 5: In the Select Users pop-up, select the Users you wish to add to the group. Click Add. Users are organised by role and can be selected from the dropdown. You can also search for a user in the top search bar by name. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-5.png)

**Step 6: The selected users and their user role will now appear in the group you have created. Click Save. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-6.png)

##### **User Role Priority** 

If you would like a user belonging to a user group to have different access to the group’s default, you can assign them individual permissions within the project. For example, Nicole F. Yutankin has been assigned as a diagram editor within the software, she is a member of the "Test Group," which only has Viewer access to the Dinosaur Park Project. 

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group_-Role-Priority.png)

To give Nicole her assigned access role instead, go to **Add > User**, then select **Nicole F,**adding her to the project as a user outside the group. From here, individual access takes priority over group access.  

**How does it work if a user is in a group and then assigned individually? **The individual access takes priority. 

##### **Delete a Group** 

**Step 1: In the User Groups menu, click the Bin icon to delete a group. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/Delete-a-Group.png)

**Step 2: A warning message will appear. Click Delete Group. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/Delete-a-Group-2.png)

##### **Remove a User** 

**Step 1: In the User Groups menu, select a group you have created. **

**Step 2: Click the Bin icon beside the User to remove a user. The user will automatically be removed from the group. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-Delete-a-user.png)

##### **Restrict group access to a project** 

Add groups to specific projects and change their access type to (viewer) or to match their (assigned user role). 

*Note: Diagram Editors can add user groups to projects.

**Step 1: Head to the Projects menu. **

**Step 2: Click Edit Project beside the project you wish to restrict. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-restrict-access.png)

**Step 3: In the pop-up, tick Restrict Access. The pop-up will then update. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-restrict-access-2.png)

**Step 4: Click Add. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/user-group-restrict-access-4.png)

**Step 5: In the pop-up, select the Group/s you wish to restrict the project to. Click Add #. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/user-group-restrict-access-5.png)

**Step 6: The group will appear in the selected project. Click Save. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/user-group-restrict-access-3.png)

##### **Change Access Type** 

Groups can be granted access to projects as Viewers or to match their Assigned User Roles. 

**Step 1: To change the access type of the group, click on Edit Project. **

**Step 2: Toggle the Access Type option and select which type you want for the group.  **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/user-group-access-type.png)

##### **View Accessible Projects** 

**Step 1: Go to Settings > Company Settings. **

**Step 2: Go to the User Groups menu. **

**Step 3: Click on the ellipsis menu of the group you wish to access. Select View Accessible Projects. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-View-Accessible-Projects.png)

**Step 4: The projects that the group can access will appear in a pop-up window. **

![](https://bowtiemaster.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/User-Group-View-Accessible-Projects-2.png)
